SARS 2016 Speakers

< Back to Annual Meeting 2016

Guest Speakers

John Farndon Lecture – Professor Des Winter, MD FRCSI FRCS (Gen)

A 1993 graduate of the National University of Ireland (Dublin) Professor Des Winter entered basic surgical training in Cork (Ireland) and achieved his fellowship examination (FRCSI) in 1998. During this time he completed research spanning Ireland and Yale University for a doctorate of medicine by thesis before entering the Irish senior registrar scheme in surgery. He received the ASGBI medal for the Intercollegiate Fellowship in 2003 and was awarded the Millin Lecture and Medal (RCSI) that year. Des was appointed as consultant surgeon to his alma mater, St Vincent’s University Hospital (Dublin) in 2004 but deferred commencement until 2006 to complete a fellowship at the Mayo Clinic. The recipient of over 30 national/international scholarships and research awards, he has over 200 publications. Des is member of 25 national and international surgical societies, is an editor of BJS, and sits on the editorial boards of several journals. Des is married to Genevieve with whom he has 4 children.

Zachary Cope Lecture, Professor John Hunt, D.Sc. Ph.D. B.Sc.

John’s research focuses on developing breakthrough therapies, devices and technology to repair, replace, augment and in the future regenerate diseased, infected and damaged tissues in humans using material interventions. Understanding the generic science to deliver interventional medical therapies requiring the use of a material (within which cells are also considered as a material). These will come from an in depth generic first principles approach to understanding and directing the patient’s cellular and molecular mechanisms and responses related to the clinical outcome and efficacy of medical devices, biocompatibility, inflammation and stem cell biology. Tissue engineering processes are developed and applied, addressing the key areas of patient treatments requiring intervention and material implantation; the materials of choice being researched today also include cells and within that, expertise and intellectual property has been created relating to primary cell sourcing, controlling cell function and phenotype through defining and controlling extracellular matrix interactions, angiogenesis, inflammation and tissue regeneration.

BJS Lecture, David B. Hoyt, M.D., FACS

Dr. Hoyt received a BA degree with honors from Amherst College, followed by an MD degree from Case Western Reserve University in 1976. From 1976-1984, Dr. Hoyt was a Surgical Resident and Research Fellow at the University of California, San Diego (UCSD) and Scripps Immunology Institute. He joined the faculty at UCSD and immediately became involved in their Trauma Service, where his role as Director lasted from 1989 – 2006. In 1995, he was appointed Professor of Surgery and was awarded The Monroe E. Trout Professorship in Surgery at UCSD (1996). In 2006, Dr. Hoyt was appointed to the positions of Chairman, Department of Surgery at the University of California, Irvine and The John E. Connolly Professor of Surgery. In 2008, Dr. Hoyt was also appointed Executive Vice Dean for the University of California, Irvine, School of Medicine. In January 2010, Dr. Hoyt was appointed Executive Director of the American College of Surgeons. He remains Emeritus Professor of Surgery at the University of California, Irvine.

Dr. Hoyt distinguished himself within the UCSD and UCI Departments of Surgery, having delivered numerous named lectures and has received multiple significant awards from his colleagues, as well as scientific organizations, while serving in positions of leadership. In his current role, he continues to present key and named lectures globally and still serves as an advisor for many graduate students.

Dr. Hoyt is a member of the American Surgical Association, Surgical Biology Club, Western Surgical Association, and Society of University Surgeons and holds membership in other prestigious surgical organizations. He is currently a Past President of the American Association for the Surgery of Trauma, Past President of the Society of General Surgeons of San Diego, Past President of the Shock Society, Past Chairman of the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma, and Past Medical Director of Trauma at the American College of Surgeons. He has been a visiting professor at a number of institutions nationally and internationally and is an Editorial Board Member of six journals. Dr. Hoyt consistently received significant public research funding, and continues to do so. He is the author of over 620 publications and the recipient of the American Heart Association Resuscitation Science Lifetime Research Achievement Award, the American College of Surgeons Distinguished Service Award and the Shock Society Scientific Achievement Award.

Hunterian Lecture, Professor Dileep N Lobo, MB BS, MS, DM, FRCS, FACS, FRCPE

Dileep Lobo is a Professor of Gastrointestinal Surgery and Consultant Hepatopancreaticobiliary Surgeon at Queen’s Medical Centre, Nottingham, UK. He qualified from Bangalore University, India and has trained in Chandigarh, Nottingham and Leicester. He was awarded a DM degree with distinction by the University of Nottingham for his work on fluid and electrolytes and is a recipient of the Sir David Cuthbertson Medal for his contributions to the field of Nutrition and Metabolism. He has been awarded the prestigious James IV Society of Surgeons Traveller’s Award and the Moynihan Fellowship. His clinical interests focus on surgery of the pancreas and biliary tree and laparoscopic surgery. His research interests include surgical nutrition and metabolism, fluid and electrolyte balance and pancreatic cancer. Dileep is the Surgical Lead for the NIHR Nottingham Digestive Diseases Biomedical Research Unit. He is currently Associate Editor of Clinical Nutrition. He is a member of the editorial board of four peer-reviewed journals and has been Clinical Editor of Surgery (Oxford) and Associate Editor of the European Journal of Clinical Nutrition. He was awarded the Fellowship of the American College of Surgeons in 2010 and was elected to the Fellowship of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh in 2013. He is Chair of the Scientific Committee of the ERAS Society, Honorary Secretary of the Society of Academic and Research Surgery and is President of the International Association for Surgical Metabolism and Nutrition. He has recently been awarded the prestigious Hunterian Professorship by the Royal College of Surgeons of England.

< Back to Annual Meeting 2016

Comments are closed.